tortuga truths

Welcome to tortugatunes, a blog about jammin’ out.

I am the main tortuga, which is turtle in Spanish (I have a healthy obsession with sea turtles, more on that later). I am a journalism student aspiring to be a designer at a national magazine and in the meantime waiting to hear back from graduate schools. As a designerd*, I keep a running list in my head of anything and everything that inspires me. Number one on this list? Music.

This blog will be a continuous stream of my thoughts about the music scene, particularly anything with a pounding beat or heartbreaking lyrics.

What does music mean to me? I can remember the first song I ever listened to and knew I was listening to something that would change my life. Say what you will, but it was, in fact, “Baby One More Time” by Britney Spears. I was 9 years old and my friend was writing a love note to a cute boy we knew and used the lyrics of that song (and then signed my name). Whatever. The point is that the memory did not stick with me because of my humiliation when the boy’s mom called my dad later or when I saw the boy at school the next day, but because of Britney Spears. She opened a whole new world for me that day.

Music is more than something to fill an awkward silence or a source of entertainment. Music surrounds my world, encompasses my very soul, knows everything about me and gets me through my very worst days and celebrates with me on my best.

It is everywhere. I sing with it in the shower and in the car. I bump it in my stereo speakers, my headphones, my earbuds. I have whole libraries on my ipod, my Mac, my PC and in my CD collection. I discover more every day through Facebook, Twitter, Tumblr, Pitchfork, Soundowl, Hype, SPIN Magazine, Rolling Stone… I can’t think of a time when music is not there. If you feel the same, welcome to tortugatunes. If you have no idea what I’m talking about but want to know, stick around. This blog is not for those who merely use the radio in their cars during their weekly commutes. This blog is for those who have a passion for music.

Pause here for a shout out to three people who have greatly influenced my taste of music, whether they know it or not. (I may refer to them in later posts): Monica (DJ Mon), Manny (MC Man) and Becca (Bax).

Side Note: The great thing about music is that, especially with today’s technology, it can be taken anywhere. I mentioned earlier that music is everywhere. Well, I have my preferences of which music I take with me places. When I’m in the car, I prefer songs I know all the words to so I can turn up the volume and belt them out. While ‘nerding out, I like to blast my headphones with old school hip hop and some dubstep covers. In the club, bring on the dubstep and top 40s, please!

That being said, to jump things off, I thought I’d share some intimate facts about the inner workings of something I call, “TMAC JAMS,” or, my iPod.

Number of songs: 4,249

#1 played on iTunes: “The Story of Us” – Taylor Swift, Speak Now

Last five artists downloaded:

  1. Elle Varner: Conversational Lush album – I heard of her from Miguel’s song, “All I Want Is You,” which has an Elle Varner Remix.
  2. Action Bronson: Dr. Lecter album (MC Man)
  3. Danny Brown: XXX album (MC Man)
  4. Jay Ellington: “Obstruction of Justice” – The song was sent to me via Facebook from Jay Ellington, an artist based out of Clearwater under the group Utmos, Inc.
  5. Iggy Azalea: Ignorant Art album (MC Man)

Favorite artist: There will always be a place in my heart for Lil Wayne.

Eight of nine Wayne albums I have

*designerd: one who finds pleasure in discussing fonts, tools in Illustrator and showing others how InDesign works.

2 thoughts on “tortuga truths

  1. Hey! definitely will be checking out your blog as well, us music nuts have got to stick together! I loved reading your first post, I feel like we are on the same page. Love that you shared your iTunes info – number of songs and top played song (love that it’s T-Swift by the way) I thought that was a cool idea.
    My top played song is Island in the Sun by Weezer actually a lot of my top played songs are from kinda old, gotta love the 90s.
    Can’t wait to read more!!

  2. Love the music video for A Story of Us. (Of course, I have a newfound appreciation for Taylor Swift after listening to her Hunger Games soundtrack a thousand times… haha.) Your list of personal music trivia was a really fun idea.

Leave a Reply

