tortuga, guilty as charged

In my first post nearly a month ago, I mentioned my #1 played song on iTunes was “The Story of Us” by T.Swift. Not only has it been four weeks, but that fact has not changed. iTunes automatically archives your top 25 played songs, which can say a lot about a person. And okay, I was a little embarrassed by that confession, but let’s face it, Taylor’s got a gift with the lyrics and I’m not afraid to let the world know I like to jam out to her albums in the car, shower, around the house…pretty much anywhere. If I was hanging out with a group of friends and had my library on shuffle, I’d more likely own up to the tune than jump up to skip it.

However, after carefully combing through my collection, it appears there are quite a few songs that would cause my face to flush if played in company. I call them my guilty pleasures and this post is dedicated to them.

The 40 songs comprise 1% of my library, would take 2 hours, 26 minutes and 35 seconds to listen to once through and collectively have 66 plays. These are the songs I am embarrassed to say I think are worthy of keeping in my shuffle but am sure I will never delete from it. Without further ado, I present to you…

…the highlights (slash half) of my guilty pleasures:

  1. “I Saw the Sign” – Ace of Base: A childhood classic, loved until Bally Total Fitness adopted it to use in their commercial ad campaign. After that, the meaning was destroyed. Plays: 2
  2. “Girlfriend” – Avril Lavigne: “HEY! HEY! YOU! YOU! I DON’T LIKE YOUR GIRLFRIEND!” No way, no way, think I need a new song. It’s good for solo trips in the car, especially the Lil Mama remix, but in front of other people? This is one you lie about and claim you don’t know where it came from. Plays: 2
  3. “La Bella y la Bestia” – Disney (Spanish version): Tale as old as time, I swear I downloaded this to help me practice for Spanish class. For some reason, I never got rid of it. Might have something to do with the loving song sung in a Romance language. Plays: 1
  4. “My Humps” – Black Eyed Peas: Like any sane person would, I skip over this song the second that horn starts to play. I guess I like to hold on to it to reminisce about my high school days when Fergie’s blatant raps were all the rage. Plays: 1
  5. “Every Time We Touch” – Cascada: I remember swinging high on a park swing while jamming this adrenaline-filled number on my mp3 player (iPod, what?). These days, I think it belongs in an exercise class. Plays: 2
  6. “My Heart Will Go On” – Celine Dion: I’m pretty sure I heard this ballad before ever watching Titanic, but everyone else in the world seems to associate the two mediums so they pretend to hate it, but really they’re worried about tearing up. RIP Jack. Plays: 0
  7. “Don’t Forget” – Demi Lovato: Demi Lovato > Selena Gomez. Just saying. Listen to this heart-wrenching tune and disagree. Just try. Plays: 4
  8. “Hero” – Enrique Iglesias: I once saw him serenade a Dollar General manager with this sappy crap at a concert. I pretend not to like him or this song, but at that moment, I wished I’d been on that stage. Plays: 1
  9. “With You” – Jessica Simpson: Super-cutesy and sickeningly sweet, I’d be mortified if this dedication to a guy came on in company, but I belt every note when I’m alone. Plays: 2
  10. “Summer Girl” – Leighton Meester: Yes, it’s from the Country Strong soundtrack. Yes, it’s Blair Waldorf from Gossip Girl. No, I won’t refer you to the YouTube video, but yes, I will let it play in my iTunes. Plays: 3
  11. “I Try” – Macy Gray: People seem to hate this song. Like, really hate it. I’ve always loved it. I’ll skip it to keep from hearing others’ grief, but dang it, it’s unique. Plays: 3
  12. “See You Again” – Miley Cyrus: Perfect for road trippin’ by yourself. Perfect for associating it with your guy. Not so perfect for playing at parties or singing to your guy. Plays: 2
  13. “Tearin’ Up My Heart” – *N SYNC: The most nasal of the quintet’s singles, but the first. Ahh, fourth grade. Plays: 1
  14. “How You Remind Me” – Nickelback: Nickelback’s got some haters and I’m not completely sure why. Perhaps to keep from owning up to the fact they worshipped the band when it came out. But I can’t deny it. Plays: 0
  15. “Stars Are Blind” – Paris Hilton: Like many others of her celebrity stature, the heiress attempted a vocal career, but didn’t make it very far. DJ Mon and I used to spin this all the time, though. Plays: 1
  16. “1234” – Plain White T’s: If there’s one thing I don’t like, it’s really cheesy lyrics. However, this is the Plain White T’s. Instead of switching to a new song, I always find myself singing along. Plays: 0
  17. “Wonderwall (Cover)” – Richard Cheese: This is the kind of hire I’d have at my pretend wedding. The guy’s so ridiculous with his covers, but in the are-you-for-real-this-is-so-funny kind of way. Plays: 2
  18. “I Feel Like a Woman” – Shania Twain: The ultimate karaoke song…of my middle school years. The ultimate girl’s night song…of always. Yeah, I said it. Plays: 0
  19. “If It’s Love” – Train: Pat Monahan running around Tropicana Field in all white, touching the hands of every Train/Rays fan he comes in contact with is all I see when I hear this song. But no one else will see what I see. So I skip. Plays: 2
  20. “A Thousand Miles” – Vanessa Carlton: Raise your hand if you’ve seen the movie White Chicks. Now put it down because I can’t actually see you. If you didn’t raise your hand because you haven’t seen the movie, buy/borrow/rent/netflix/torrent it and this song will conjure laughter instead of scoffs. Plays: 1
4 thoughts on “tortuga, guilty as charged

  1. So I have to admit that I too have many of your guilty pleasure songs are on my iTunes shuffle as well. It is so true that a persons iPod can say so much about a person and who they are deep down. I think that our guilty pleasure songs resemble the traits that we as people don’t always show to the world, but try to keep hidden away for the exception of the people in your life you are closest with aka family and long time friends who know you best. The type of music people listen to say so much about them that I think if you were to find a random person’s iPod and go through their guilty pleasures as well as their most recently added music you could tell who they are without even meeting them. Great post!

  2. I felt like I was experiencing de ja vu when I read your blog post. My boyfriend is Mexican and White and is tatted all over his arms and chest but loves Country Music. He was singing Mean by T. Swift as I was reading your blog. He is not ashamed at all in his tastes of music. He has every artist on his I-Pod and proud of it. Embrace your love for Ms. Swift she’s great.

  3. I LOVE this post. I love Taylor Swift, and I will admit that she is one of my guilty pleasures. I will also admit that only 6 of your guilty pleasures songs were one of mine. The other 14… you are very brave to admit! (Especially Nickelback) But it’s very cool that you made this list, it would probably take me hours to figure out my list. Great post & I will have to keep checking back for updates! Post the next 20 soon!

  4. Thats a great list of songs. But some of them you shouldn’t feel to bad to admit! I unfortunately have a decent amount of New Found Glory on here, but there is also some Offspring, Sum 41 stuff that I love having on there cause its so nostalgic.

Leave a Reply

